President's Corner     Midyear Convention Registration     AGM Convention     Book a Stand Today!     Join Our Community today!

Engr. Melvin C. Acosta


Dear IECEP Members:

  Please allow me to recap the recently concluded AGM last Nov 21-23, 2013 held at SMX Convention Center, Taguig.

    IECEP 2013 AGM was attended by more than 1,300 professionals while there were more than 1,100 students who participated in the Student Summit held on November 22, 2013. The figures proved that more members are becoming more interested in what our organization is doing to address their needs in keeping abreast with the latest electronics technologies and practices and in the CPD requirements for license renewal.

Day 1 was highlighted by a number of important plenary presentations that impact the practice of our profession. The speech of Com. Teresita R. Manzala, PRC Chairperson as delivered by BECE Chair Arnal L. Detalla, explained the importance of the CPD program in relation to the ASEAN 2015 including the interlinking of basic education K-12 to higher education. The other two members of the BECE Engr. Herminio J. Orbe and Engr Enrico Claro Delmoro and all the officers and directors were likewise present. Former IECEP presidents Engr. Fernando Morales, Commodore Rene Leandro Ebro, Engr. Fortunato Perlas, Engr. Edgardo Cabarrios, former NTC Commissioner Atty. Ronald Solis(IECEP’s Legal Counsel) and Engr. Federico Monsada, PTC President were also present to grace the occasion. As your president, I have made my report, presented in a simplified manner, the activities of IECEP for 2013 vis-à-vis the mission statements of our organization including its financials. I have also shown the other projects that are still for completion to serve better the members and for the betterment of IECEP. (Please see President’s Corner) The drive to raise fund for IECEP Home was discussed by Dr. Rosula Reyes, former IECEP president, to create more awareness to this major project of the organization initially by re-opening the lifetime membership and through direct donations from generous members and supporting organizations. The much awaited final draft of the Electronics Code was presented by Engr. Romulo Agatep, former IECEP president and Chair of IECEP Code Committee, a by-product of his committee’s series of meetings and workshop. This will be endorsed to PRC and it is hoped that the code will be published by early part of 2014. The candidates for the seven BODs that will be filled up for 2014 was presented by Engr. Ornan S. Vicente, another former IECEP president and chair of IECEP Comelec.

Day 2 started with a plenary session highlighted by the presentation of BECE member Engr. Herminio J. Orbe explaining the legal basis and importance of CDP for practicing professionals and the need to be globally competitive particularly when ASEAN cross border practice takes effect in 2015. This year’s AGM offered array of topics specifically, 46 technical seminars ranging from telecommunications, broadcast, CATV, mechatronics, automation, biomedical technology, semiconductors, instrumentation, building electronics system, green technology and government’s undertaking in the ICT field. Moreover, 15 research papers were presented in the academic track. The AGM could not have covered all specialty topics but we do believe that most delegates were able to maximize their learning that have direct impact in their specialty of practice by these number of seminars and learning sessions. Some might have attended sessions simply to learn new technologies in various fields.

Day 3 was largely devoted for the continuation of seminar sessions but in plenary set-up. The topics discussed were for general interest including green technology, entrepreneurship, quality management, e-Commerce compliance, occupational safety , electronics technology in disaster management. The highlight of Day 3 is the recognition of outstanding ECE practitioners in various fields of practice. I would like to congratulate the following : Engr. Joel Bion Lolo (Government service), Lt Col. Edwin C. Sadang (Military), Dr. Tirso A. Ronquillo (Education), Engr. Frederick D. Esquillo (Broadcast/CATV), Engr. Gerhard P. Tan ( Communication), and Engr. Cecilio P. Punzal (Electronics). IECEP Manila Chapter was adjudged as the Best Local Chapter while KSA-CRC as Best Foreign Chapter.

   We truly value the support of our organizational partners in holding this year’s AGM and we do hope that they will continue to do so in future IECEP undertakings. Thank you PLDT Home, Hytec Power Inc., PERCDC, Smart Communications, ISDN Inc., Accutest Technologies Philippines Inc., BICSI, Broadcast World Systems Philippines, Inc., Brother International Philippines Corp., Casino Filipino, Eastern Telecommunications, Inc., Globe Telecoms, ABS-CBN Corp., National Instruments, Inc., Solid Video, Inc., Digicloud, Inc., One Commerce National Corp., Rivan IT Training Systems Corp., Universal Robina Corp., ECR Marketing, Blue Chip Design, Inc., and Sparksolutions, Inc.

    Moreover, as part of our Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR), it was decided to forgo the Fellowship Night with our partners and other VIPs and to donate instead the supposed expense to the victims of typhoon “Yolanda”. Thanks to Engr. Robert Tolentino for initiating this move despite of chairing its committee and his ECE students and talents who worked so hard in preparation for this supposedly big night.     I would like also to thank the governors and local chapter officers who helped a lot in the administration of the multi-session seminars and the students and officers of both Manila and Quezon City Chapters in the registration and administration procedures in the convention.

    Moreover, I would like to thank the presenters who unselfishly shared their talents and valuable time for their contribution to professional development of the attendees . We hope too that you will be around next year to share once more that latest development in your fields of expertise. But most importantly, I would like to thank the attendees themselves for spending 2 ½ days of their time to learn, connect or simply enjoy the convention.

    As your president, I personally believe that one year term is not enough to effect improvements and programs for the betterment of the organization but I firmly believe that the next leadership will continue and add more to what this administration has started. In this regard, may I congratulate the new set of officers for 2014 as follows:

  • Dr. May Rose C. Imperial – President
  • Engr. Agapito T. Zinampan, Jr. – VP Internal
  • Engr. Jose Carlos P. Reyes – VP External
  • Dr. Ben B. Andres – VP Education
  • Engr. Rodrigo V. Carandang, Jr. – Secretary General
  • Engr. Grace B. Aguillos – Treasurer
  • Engr. Bill L. Peralta – Auditor
  • Engr. Joel B. Bajador – Director
  • Dr. Gerino P. Mapatao – Director
  • Capt. Vicente L. Cejoco – Director
  • Engr. Jose Mari T. Bigornia – Director

  •     There are still a lot of works to be done and I hope you will be supportive too to this new set of officers. Let’s work for the betterment of our organization.
        See you in Boracay this coming May 29-31 for our mid-year convention.

    Very truly yours,

    Melvin C. Acosta


    This is to inform the public that


    whose picture appears above, is no
    Read More

        In a simple ceremony held at the Summit Ridge Hotel in Tagaytay City, Engr. AlnarL. Detalla, Chairman of
    Read More

    View March 2014 ECE Licensure Examination

    Read More

    View IECEP Palawan Chapter Formed

    Read More

    Now that the Chairman and the members of the Board of Electronics Engineering (BECE) have been appointed and sworn to
    Read More

    More Articles